Diana Vishneva on The Edge: Review

I had the opportunity to watch Diana Vishneva’s ballet performance earlier today and although I am not the biggest ballet fan I jumped at the chance to give it a try. After the show being reviewed by both the LA Times and the Orange County Register everyone in the audience seemed absolutely thrilled to witness the performance which made me only even more excited to see what is to come. The only thing I prayed for was that I was giving myself false hope.

The first act which was only about thirty five minuets long had only seemed as if it were only a few minuets. As a viewer you did not exactly want to leave the realm you had just entered. I began to feel  my heart begin to pound in synch with the rhythm of the music. My eyes intensely watching the puppet like movements as the dancers (Diana Vishneva, Bernice Coppieters, and Gaëtan Molotti) swiftly moved across the black floor. My eyes scanning from dancer to the dancer as I tried to figure out the story. The lustful yet romantic moves entranced me as I began to realize that there was more than one story to be told in the little time we had with the scene. Not only the dancers but also the audience dealt with the idea of lust (wanting more than one women), romance and the idea of being protective over an other, showing how with fame at times a person has to do things they may not be proud of, and having to give up on our dreams to face reality (Diana placing her ballet shoes on the dance pole as in finally facing the real world and giving up on her dream).

The once black mysterious lighting had slowly turned gold. Illuminating wisdom and the idea that this is exactly how life is supposed to be. Whenever the dark rolls in there is usually a lesson to be learned once it begins to fade out.

Once it hit intermission and the scene had ended, I was worried I was looking too into the theme of the dance. That was until I began speaking to an usher who told me she had attended the “pre-talk” with the choreographer whom explained that the meaning of the dance was about life and all of the details that I had hit earlier. What had actually struck my interest was that the usher had said “the choreographer had explained that the dance also depends on the mood the audience member was in before the show had started. If the audience member was happy then they would have a positive outlook on the story, if they were sad then there may have been a negative outlook.”

The interplay of personal emotions and being able to interpret your own story within the dance had made more excited for the second act. After the thirty-five minute intermission the mood within the house had seemed to shift. The audience seemed more restless but I did not allow that to get to me.

For the second act, Diana was the only dancer on stage. With about three wardrobe changes and a simple wooden table with goodies hidden within the drawers, Diana was able to create magic. She alone showed the struggles of growing up and the process to becoming a women. Such as getting ready in front of a mirror, prancing in heels, and not wanting to conform to the norm.

Towards the end of the act Dianna’s final prop were lemons. Almost endless as she would pick them out from the drawer and cut them in half with a knife before giving the slices of fruit to members of the audience. Curious on what lemons symbolize I later found out that they mean: “longevity, purification, love, and friendship”. Something that could have been so meaningless had turned out to be the theme of the final dance. The need for a long life, wanting to get rid of anything that seems wrong, and last but not least the need for love and friendship. To be able to find a meaning to life and the struggles that come with it.

I do have to admit, I was iffy about going to this show, I did not expect to enjoy it as much as I did. I am glad that my pre-judgment had never been more wrong. I am looking forward to see what else Diana Vishneva has under her sleeve.

Leave a Reply

