Review: ‘The Fault in Our Stars’

**This post contains TWO spoilers.**

thefaultinourstarsmovie.com

thefaultinourstarsmovie.com

“Are you ready to start crying?” Asked two theater employees as I walked towards the room I was assigned to watch the film. Stunned by the questions, I replied with a yes since I felt that I had an advantage to what was going to happen in the movie having read the book already. Surprisingly, I was not at all ready. Throughout the two hours I sat in the theatre, my eyes stayed glued on the screen like I was reliving the book for the first time. The tears flowed carelessly and my heart ached throughout the film. I had forgotten about the friend sitting beside me, the melting Icee, and the sniffling people surrounding me because all that mattered was the story unraveling itself.

From the actors to the body movement of each character, The Fault in Our Stars ropes you in and takes you through a tragically beautiful trip as the plot begins to unfold right in front of you. A word not need to be spoken because the character’s body movements, facial expressions, lack of breath, and the tug on their faces from frowning or smiling said more than the words ever will. The actors allowed you to feel their fear and the mutual love between one another.

Although I was worried about how I would see Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters, since Shailene Woodley and Ansel Elgort played siblings in Divergent the whole situation seemed to have drowned itself out once the movie began and the two actors steered away from their previous roles. They became new people, with new lives and situations. They became Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters to the point I had forgotten how I imagined them to be while reading the book.

Two characters that stood out to me the most throughout the film were Peter Van Houten and Issac. I personally did not know what I was going to expect from both Nat Wolff and Willem Dafoe but I was blown away by the intensity that accompanied Peter Van Houten, to the point where one almost became sorry for him and his actions.

As for Issac, I felt as if I knew him personally, there was a certain familiarity with the way Wolff portrayed Issac which made the movie feel comfortable almost like you were meant to be friends with him, Hazel, and Augustus.

 ((SPOILER)) Although the movie did meet my expectations and I was glad that it could easily be compared to the book I was upset that the scene where Augustus and his father were arguing before he got on the plane to go to Amsterdam was missing. Of course not every scene or detail from the book could make it into the movie (take the scene where Hazel was with her friend at the mall for example) but I felt as if the scene with Augustus and his father was vital to when Augustus would reveal his hips hurting and X-Rays to Hazel along with the entire plot and Augustus’ death. Not only that but the missing scene alone showed how much Hazel and Augustus cared for one another with their worried “okay’s.”

Personally, that missing scene tied in the ending and allowed the plot to transition and flow. Without it, the film began to feel a tad rushed, almost like the scenes were thrown in front of you just to get to the climax more quickly.

Other than that missing scene, the film caused an emotional effect within you since you grew to become familiar with the characters on the screen. You mourned with Hazel, worried with both Hazel’s and Augustus’ parents when it came to their children, and became as hopeful as Mrs. Lancaster when it came to the end result of all the characters.

Watch the Trailer and find out more about The Fault in Our Stars by clicking the links below!

Leave a Reply

